Detailers Domain
Wicked CAS
Driven Perfection
Light Innovation
Kaizen Tuning
Aston Martin of New England

Thread: I'm a newb...need your help (multi monitor setup)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Default I'm a newb...need your help (multi monitor setup) 
    So multi-tasking on a 14" laptop screen is pretty impossible- so I'm looking to add dual monitors, wireless keyboard and mouse to my laptop.

I have the keyboard and mouse, and will be buying monitors momentarily.

My laptop, Dell, has VGA out and HDMI out.

What else do I need? (Other than cables) Are there any other adapters or settings I need to change to make this multi screen thing work?

Thanks in advance for your reply

2. #2 Default  
    I would look to see if there is a docking station for your laptop that has dual monitor support first (dual DVI, VGA, or display ports), otherwise see if you can actually use your VGA and HDMI out at the same time to support dual monitors.

The buyer at work as dual monitors hooked to a docking station for her work laptop, but that is the first time I have seen that kind of configuration. Normally the laptop monitor is considered monitor 1, and your extra monitor is the second one.

What model dell is it?
    Matt

3. #3 Default  
    See if they have a docking station for your laptop.

I've run dual monitors off my laptop docking stations... Both Lenovo and HP.
    -Mike
    2006 Quarter Pounder Sport GT with cheese.

4. #4 Default  
    I'd be ok with laptop as 1 and other as 2...as long as I could have one spreadsheet on one and another on the laptop screen

It's a Dell Latitude E6230

5. #5 Default  
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris! View Post
    I'd be ok with laptop as 1 and other as 2...as long as I could have one spreadsheet on one and another on the laptop screen

It's a Dell Latitude E6230