Detailers Domain
Wicked CAS
Driven Perfection
Light Innovation
Kaizen Tuning
Aston Martin of New England

Thread: 401k/Ira/retirement plan advice

1. #1 Default 401k/Ira/retirement plan advice 
    I've never worked for a public co before. My work has a pretty great 401k, IMO. They will contribute 3% of your pay whether you contribute or not and match your contributions up to 4%. However the 3% all goes in as company stock (they changed the rule for this year, the first that I am eligible. I figured maybe once per quarter I will sell some of it to maintain balance/diversity. I was looking at the account though and notice that the price listed on those shares is way less than what the stock is trading at. Anyone have any experience with this type of thing?

Also, to start, I elected to contribute 4% to get the maximum match. I didnt realize it would take so long for changes to take effect. I always planned to contribute more, but I was thinking that I would contribute another 4% to a post tax Ira. Is this a good idea or should I just contribute 8% to the 401k?

Any help is appreciated.

2. #2 Default  
    This is relevant to my interests as well. I've been dumping a bunch into company retirement since I started, but unsure what to do to make it better.

3. #3 Default  
    I'm not am expert in this field so consider what I'm suggesting as a recommendation that you should research and confirm.

1) sounds good about selling. Diversifying is good. Half your eggs in one basket is bad. No idea about price difference between price listed vs exchange price. Someone else should answer, but perhaps it's a different type of stock.