Detailers Domain
Wicked CAS
Driven Perfection
Light Innovation
Kaizen Tuning
Aston Martin of New England

Thread: Springs and shocks? Or just springs?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Default Springs and shocks? Or just springs? 
    So I've been contemplating getting springs for my Merc for a few months now. The ride is firm, but it still wallows through back to back turns like a boat. I also want to get rid of some of that ugly wheel gap :P I've talked to a few people about it. Now here's where I'm getting confused: I've always thought that you had to buy springs AND shocks, but some people have said that I can get away with just springs if I upgrade my shocks eventually and I'm careful over bumps. So what should I do? I'm looking at H&R sport springs combined with either Bilstein shocks or Koni shocks. I'm not looking into coils because I don't want to spend that much on something I can live without.

2. #2 Default  
    depends how big the drop is on the springs is. Generally speaking it is ok to keep the stock shocks if the drop isnt too crazy about 1.5" or less.

3. #3 Default  
    Quote Originally Posted by streetxdreamer View Post
    depends how big the drop is on the springs is. Generally speaking it is ok to keep the stock shocks if the drop isnt too crazy about 1.5" or less.
    It should be about a 1.3" drop in the rear and a 1.4" drop in the front.

4. #4 Default  
    anything over an inch shouuld be swapped out as pairs.
    you'll really reduce travel, and the shock will always be in it's compression range.

I'm not sure if you're doing the work yourself, or paying someone, but if you're doing springs, the struts have to be removed, anyways.
    you'd literally be paying labor 2x for something that could be done once.

also, if the car has more than 30k on it, it's really worth doing them together.
    I would recommend going for a ride in other cars with setups you're considering.

bilsteins are a love/hate setup.