Wicked CAS
Driven Perfection
Light Innovation
Kaizen Tuning
Aston Martin of New England

Thread: Tequila - the good, the bad, the ugly

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Default Tequila - the good, the bad, the ugly 
    Seeing as how there is a Scotch thread on here I figured we could have a Tequila one as well.

I have been drinking Tequila for the past 4 or 5 years. Unfortunately because of how small and new the fine Tequila surge is many brands are hard to come by. Most of the best stuff can be had fairly easily through California. Problem is you have to know someone in California.

As a side note I should mention that I prefer almost all alcohol very cold as I feel it still allows you to taste much of the flavors, but masks much of the often rubbing alcohol tinge. Some will poo poo this but to each their own.

So without further ado here is the list of Tequilas I can think of that I have had and liked. Some may have a little blurb about them, others may not.

And for those who care http://www.tequila.net/ is a great resource.

Patron

Silver – The one that starter it all. You can find it in almost any bar these days. It is decent for a silver and much better cold than warm. Is great in drinks as its better than Jose Cuervo (last time I hope to see that brand mention other than to say it’s terrible, also most are mezcal), and can be obtained almost anywhere.

Reposado – You have to start somewhere. Also not good, but not bad by any means

Anejo – My favorite normal Patron offering. It is decent and drinkable. But I prefer many others.

Gran Patron Platinum – This is basically an ultra Silver, which is nothing more than a rename of Blanco. It is however the smoothest and best tasting “silver” I have had. Not cheap but it is great caliber and drinkable on its own no problem.

Milagro

Silver – Cheaper and better than Patron. I like the flavor of even the basic silver more. Almost always have it around for drinks